A journey to nowhere..

As you all can see I am pretty non existing in my blog.. I hardly post anything. But that is only because I want to write something which can make a difference and most importantly it should give me the satisfaction or maybe it is just a writer’s block. *Laughs*
I am not really satisfied with my previous posts so maybe this is another reason for me to take big breaks. Trust me, I am never satisfied. 

Today I want to touch a topic which is pretty relevant in this time but not everyone wants to talk about it. You still don’t need to talk about it..you just need to read it if that helps. Ha! 

I am sure many people these days are suffering from the feeling of emptiness, a feeling of getting sucked into an imaginary black hole and this is something you don’t realize when you are in it’s journey but only when you have reached the destination of ‘nowhere’. 

In simple words I mean Depression. Not sure how many will read this but it’s just a try. Maybe unintentionally it might help some one who is going through it. 

The first step towards fighting depression is knowing if you really have depression.

Is a low point in your life actually depression? No.

A mood swing is depression? No.

Not able to submit your assignment on time is depression? Not at all. Might be a stress.

Insomniac? No.

They might not be depression but probably signs of it, an indicator that you might get into the black hole of depression. Know it. Consult an elder. Talk to people. Come out of it before it gets into you. Know your capacity, take in only the amount you can give out..never stress more than your size. No, I don’t mean if you are ‘L’ size you need to take more stress than a person who is ‘S’ size. Lol. I hope I am on the right track. My main point is that if you are feeling low for a longer period of time than normal then STOP! It might lead to depression. I am sure it is easier said than done. Trust me it is. No one can understand what you are going through. I can bring the thirsty horse to the well but I can’t make him drink the water in it. The ‘Horse’ here is the person who is into depression.  

But it is not even that difficult if you think about it. Ask yourself.. is it worth it? Are you going to regret it in the coming years when you think about that person or that incident or in short the reason which is making you depressed? Stressing over your cause of depression will lead to your goals? The image below will sum it up. 

I know everyone has a reason to get depressed. Some maybe severe, some just near severe, some below severe. Please try to analyse your problem and it’s level of intensity before jumping to the conclusion of depression. It is not a joke. Being sad for an hour is not depression. Actually the more you think you are not depressed makes the situation better. No matter how clichΓ©d it sounds..yes BE POSITIVE.

Now coming to the main agenda of this post… what can I do to come out of depression? 

No, Suicide is NOT the option. 

Self harming is NOT the option.

Substance Abuse is NOT the option. 

Some pointers here:

  • Time is your best friend. Just give time, some time. You know what I mean right? Just be patient. After some years I am sure you will not even look back. Trust me, it is that worthless.
  • If it still doesn’t help then please talk to someone, most importantly an elder or someone who has a more mature outlook than you. Not just anyone, someone who you trust. Not everyone will understand and it might make the situation worse. I know it is not very easy because the main reason for depression is loneliness. When people have no one to consult to about their problems they get depressed. But just look around you, maybe there is someone who can listen to you.
  • Spirituality does help a lot. For some it might be yoga and meditation but for some like me it might be prayers. Anything which gives you peace and direct you to a better place, even for 10-20 mins, helps! 
  • Destruct that object of negativity. No don’t murder anyone. You might turn up into a jail and it might lead to a bigger depression. Mentally destruct it.. maybe something in your phone, an image or a video..just DELETE it. A contact? BLOCK it. Just get far from it as much as you can. These were just an example..you know it better.
  • Stay away from social media if that’s the reason. I know, a little ironic I am posting this on a blog haha. But yes, according to many articles and surveys Social Media is a reason for depression. Maybe someone’s FB status updates is giving you sleepless nights, maybe someone’s check-in to a popular night club is making you think your life is not cool, maybe less likes in your pictures is making you think you are not worth those ‘thumbs ups’, someone updated their relationship status but you are still single. Trust me, this is the most worthless reason you can think about. You are much better than any of them. I mean it.
  • Self harming? Getting suicidal thoughts because a guy/girl dumped you? You are on a wrong track. If that person dumped you why do even think that person will care if you die. They never wanted you and you are making it easier for them by giving up your life. Think! Will take time, maybe a lot..but you will get over it πŸ˜‰ Take some fresh air and move on. 
  • Getting bullied? Under peer pressure? Getting blackmailed? Don’t sit back. COMPLAIN. SHOUT. Let everyone know. Peer pressure is something trivial.. your peers will not even remember how cool you were in school when you did something you shouldn’t have done. Ask yourself. 
  • Most importantly, think about those people who are suffering more than you. Your problems when compared to someone else’s will look much smaller. Someone lost their parents, siblings, spouses or any loved ones…if they are living their life everyday without a support, why can’t you? You Can! Overcoming your sufferings is the deal not suffering. 
  • FOOD! You have many food which releases your happy hormones like serotonin which reduces depression and stress. Look into your diet… are you treating your body well? Have a look at this article–> Mood Boosting snacks because you are what you eat! Exercise is another way to release your tension..it relaxes your muscles. Sometimes even a hot shower can work!

    Okay so I will bring an end to this post but before that I will quote something which I truly believe in. Might help. 

    This Too Shall Pass

    After everything..you will survive!

    P.S. I am not a professional consultant or a psychiatrist so somethings might not make sense. Lol. 

    I am a part of a crowd just like everyone who tried to give 2 cents on this issue. I might not be right about what depression is but just concluded after talking to some people and reading some articles. The rate of depression is alarming..which made me write this. So do correct me where needed.

    Tried to give it a humorous touch in some places because I don’t want a depressed person to get more depressed after reading an intense piece. So keeping it simple. Hopefully no one gets offended. 

    If the situation is getting worse day by day and nothing helps then please consult a doctor πŸ™‚

    Ciao.

    31 Comments Add yours

    1. valkid says:

      I like it. Totally. It is relatable

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you πŸ™‚ I am glad it is.

        Like

    2. Gemma says:

      I like the quote in your blog ‘this too shall pass’ and your message that anybody going through depression or that thinks they might be facing it should get help – this post might just give somebody the push to go and talk to their doctor etc πŸ™‚ Hope you can check out/follow my blog too πŸ™‚ https://myhappycornerblog.wordpress.com

      Liked by 2 people

    3. Thanks for such a nice comment. πŸ™‚
      I will check it out now.

      Like

    4. yasminmay says:

      Really interesting to hear your perspective on it, and your openness to depression being different for everyone.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You got a good grip of it. Thanks. πŸ™‚

        Like

    5. I really enjoyed reading this. You describe depression, and your account of it, very well πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    6. Natalie says:

      I think a lot of people can relate! One of your images reminded me of Meticalla’s “Enter Sandman”: “never mind that noise you heard / It’s just the beasts under your bed / In your closet, in your head”

      Different things help different people, and I hope that words can help someone who is feeling depressed. Thanks for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I really believe in it. Somewhere I feel half of our problems are created by our own minds..maybe the issue is not something so big but we do stress over it..which leads to bigger problems.
        Thanks for your encouraging words!

        Like

        1. Natalie says:

          I know I’ve created problems for myself by overthinking! I think a lot of people do it!

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Trust me you are not alone in this πŸ™‚

          Like

    7. Very encouraging! Although I have never suffered from depression myself, I think that it’s important to understand those around us who might have.
      ~Gloria

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Same with me. Even I haven’t..but I am sure I had some low points in life. So it is important to help people who are not able to get out of it. Thanks Gloria!

        Liked by 1 person

    8. talkaholicme says:

      Nice try because you said you are never satisfied with your posts.. this blog is very informative.. THIS TOO SHALL PASS is what we all must think and believe..

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much ..and yes This Too Shall Pass!

        Liked by 1 person

    9. your blog can help a lot of people if you come to think of it…we all can relate to maybe at least some points in it if not all…well written !

      Liked by 1 person

    10. I really enjoyed reading this and it was very well written but coming from someone who has dealt with a lot of people with depression and someone who use to struggle with it, I have to disagree with one of the things you said in your post. “My main point is that if you are feeling low for a longer period of time than normal then STOP! It might lead to depression.” People with depression can’t just stop. Depression is a disease just like ADHD, ADD, anxiety, etc. There are things you can do about depression and some of them you listed but I just wanted to point that out.
      Continue writing! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much for your feedback. Much appreciated. I totally understand that depression is a disease like any other mental disorder..but my pointer is in general for people who are maybe in the journey to depression.. so if they are stressed out for a longer period of time they should distract themselves, indulge into something more productive. Maybe that can help them from actually getting depressed. Which I know is very easy to say. But I hope you understood what I am saying. Thanks again πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

        1. That definitely makes since!

          Liked by 1 person

    11. Fab Writings says:

      This post was really amazing and helpful, too.
      Keep writing such good stuff!
      😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

    12. The Shaggy says:

      Story of a lot of people, but it’s the brave ones who come out with such posts… Trying to help people is one beautiful way to be happy….
      Yea the suggestion are correct and you’ve written it from the perspective of those who are suffering…..
      I am gonna recommend this blog to a lot of people…
      You earned yourself a follower…
      Cheers
      πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You have no idea how happy I am reading these words. This is what a writer needs…appreciation! And I will be happier if this post helps anyone.
        Just to clear it..I haven’t suffered from depression..maybe stress and had some low points. But nothing so severe.
        Thanks anyway πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    13. The Shaggy says:

      For posts like this you will get more than appreciation, you may get a follower, a nice comment… An award… Award… I nominate you for liebster-award…. Check my blog out for more details…..

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much! πŸ˜€
        I will keep checking your blog!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. The Shaggy says:

          Will you??? Really good to know
          πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

    14. heenarebel says:

      Hi! Your thoughts about depression are quite true and I think you know a lot about the feelings of a person who’s going through depression, a fun twist is a great way to talk about a serious topic. I really liked it and it helped me a lot too. Thanks

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Thank you Heena πŸ˜€
        I am glad it helped you. Cheers.

        Like

    15. Kristin says:

      You are a fantastic writer! Keep it up!

      Liked by 1 person

    16. Mary says:

      Hello! I found this post very insightful. I have to agree with some of the above comments. Depression is not something you can cut on or off like a light switch. People who are feeling this way just can’t STOP when they see fit too. I get what you are trying to say, but somebody who suffers with major depression may take offense to that. Otherwise, I liked what you were getting at and the point you are trying to make.

      Liked by 1 person

    Leave a Reply

    